July 3-4, 2005: NASA “Deep Impact” Spacecraft to Blast Hole in Comet Temple I

Top: Deep Impact lifted off January 12, 2005, at 1:47:08.574 PM ET from pad 17-B at Cape Canaveral Air Force Station, Florida, bound for Comet Tempel 1. Image courtesy NASA. Bottom: Arrow points to Comet Tempel 1 photographed on December 11, 2004, by Observatoriode Begues, Spain. The plan is to create a crater by impacting the icy snowball on July 3-4, 2005, to see what it's made of. Image from Observatorio de Begues.
Top: Deep Impact lifted off January 12, 2005, at 1:47:08.574 PM ET from pad 17-B at Cape Canaveral Air Force Station, Florida, bound for Comet Tempel 1. Image courtesy NASA. Bottom: Arrow points to Comet Tempel 1 photographed on December 11, 2004, by Observatoriode Begues, Spain. The plan is to create a crater by impacting the icy snowball on July 3-4, 2005, to see what it's made of. Image from Observatorio de Begues.



 Schedule of Impact Events

- NASA TV coverage: Begins July 3, 8:30 p.m., Pacific Daylight Time, PDTFor NASA TV, click on: http://www.nasa.gov/multimedia/nasatv/index.html

- Expected time of impact with comet:
July 3, 10:52 p.m. PDT
11:52 p.m. MDT
July 4,  12:52 a.m. CDT
1:52 a.m. EDT

- NASA Post-impact briefing: July 4, 1 a.m. PDT
- NASA Post-impact press conference: July 4, 11 a.m. PDT

 

Click here to subscribe and get instant access to read this report.

Click here to check your existing subscription status.

Existing members, login below:


© 1998 - 2019 by Linda Moulton Howe.
All Rights Reserved.